The ASCSU advocates for students on a University, local, state and national level and represents the student body on administrative campus committees, in addition to controlling funding for student clubs and organizations, providing resources for student programming, overseeing commercial activities and student services. Put simply, the primary objective of the ASCSU is to serve students wherever possible.

The ASCSU Constitution establishes a student government with elected officials modeled after the United State’s separation-of-powers and plural elected executive governance structure.

Each year ASCSU holds a regular election to choose it’s new Speaker of the Senate. All members of the Association, that is all undergraduate and graduate students at CSU, can vote. Regular elections are held in early April. Students vote on RamWeb, which guarantees fair, transparent and proportional elections results. 

Senate Session Information

Tune in at 6:30 p.m. on Wednesday’s (MDT) starting August 30th 2023 to watch the Senate Session on YouTube or come to the Senate Chambers Located in LSC 204

Zoom Meetings

Senate Zoom Link:

982 5167 9933

View Bills From Last Year

The legislation tracker shows bills as of April 2023.

View Important Core Documents

Committee and Caucus Information

Without the consent of the Budget Committee, the Legislative, and sometimes, the Executive Branch, does not receive a single cent from the public purse. The Budget Committee deliberates on the amounts of money the Senate is to spend and for what purposes during the annual budgetary procedure.

Day of the Week:  Tuesday

Time: 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM

Location: ASCSU Conference Room or virtual

Chair: Nora Aslan

Email Budgetary Affairs Chair

Budgetary Affairs Group-Me Link

The Internal Affairs Committee deals with affairs internal to ASCSU.

Day of the Week: Tuesday

Time: 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM

Location: ASCSU Senate Chambers or virtual

Chair: Hayden Taylor

Email Internal Affairs Chair

Internal Affairs Group-Me Link

The University Affairs Committee shall deal with affairs pertaining to the University and outside of Colorado State University.

Day of the Week: Monday

Time: 12:00 PM – 1:00 PM

Location: ASCSU Conference Room or virtual

Chair: Graham Kelly

Email University Affairs Chair

University Affairs Group-Me Link

The goal of the DEI Affairs Committee is to directly connect with students across campus and find ways we can support you for a truly equitable experience at Colorado State University. The DEI Affairs Committee will work to pass tangible legislation, create a sense of belonging for all students, and promote a more inclusive environment.

Follow us on Instagram: @ASCSUDEIAffairsCommittee

Day of the Week: Friday

Time: 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM

Location: ASCSU Conference Room or virtual

Chair: Enock Monanti

Email Diversity and Inclusion Chair

The mission statement of the Women’s Caucus is to “promote legislation, programming, and a sense of community to empower women and gender diverse students in the organization and student body.”

Day of the Week: Monday

Time: 5:30PM – 6:30PM

Location: ASCSU Conference Room

Chair: Olivia Friske

Email Women’s Caucus Chair

The purpose of the Accessibility Caucus is to promote legislation, programming, and a sense of community to increase the accessibility for all students in the organization and student body.

Follow us on Instagram: @accessascsu

Day of the Week: Monday

Time: 4:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Location: ASCSU Conference Room

Chair: Sammy Trout

Email Accessibility Caucus Chair

Senate Leadership (2023-2024)

Ava Ayala

Speaker of the Senate

Ava Ayala


Email Speaker Ayala

Claudia Paraiso

Speaker Pro Tempore

Claudia Paraiso


Email Pro-Tempore Paraiso

Parker Doyle


Parker Doyle


Email Parliamentarian Doyle


Recruitment and Retention Officer

Mia Ritter


Email Officer Ritter

Committee & Caucus Chairs

CSU Logo, white on a green background

Budgetary Affairs Committee Chair

Nora Aslan


Email Committee Chair Aslan

Image of Hayden Taylor

Internal Affairs Committee Chair

Hayden Taylor


Email Committee Chair Taylor

CSU Logo, white on a green background

University Affairs Committee Chair

Graham Kelly


Email Committee Chair Graham

Image of Enock Monanti

DEI Affairs Committee Chair

Enock Monanti


Email Committee Chair Monanti

Image of Olivia Friske

Woman’s Caucus Chair

Olivia Friske


Email Caucus Chair Friske

Image of Sammy Trout wearing a suit

Accessibility Caucus Chair

Sammy Trout


Email Caucus Chair Trout